Skip to Content
  • Sat Jun 02 2012
  • Welcome Guest!

Live Users (last hour): 711
Registered Users: 170,860

Fake Employment Ads used for Phishing - Rosetta Stone

I have been going through the Employment classifieds and have noticed that someone is carpet bombing the place using alternating emails, tricky language and fake salaries to get CVS without giving a company name. They do not have their own company email and seem quite dodgy.

For those unfamiliar with the concept phishing is used to get information through adverts/fake emails etc to be used at a later time for a purpose different from that stated. In this case I'm guessing they are probably going to contact teachers later using their real company name and with a lower offer.

examples:

http://www.thebeijinger.com/classifieds/2011/12/15/200-RMB-per-hour-20-s...

http://www.thebeijinger.com/classifieds/2012/01/10/URGENTLY-Foreign-teac...

http://www.thebeijinger.com/classifieds/2012/01/06/VIP-lessons-Up-to-500...

http://www.thebeijinger.com/classifieds/2012/01/10/Overseas-returnees-in...

Here are some of the common language used in the adverts(they are all 163.com emails):

Some adverts call themselves a "Worldwide English training Organization", often using that configuration of caps

The normally don't say per hour and just say things like upto 350RMB, upto 500RMB etc

Many say 30 seconds walk from line 4.

If you choose to apply for this job please be careful as it looks very dodgy - Rosetta Stone is working with a Chinese company that uses its name but is not directly managed by them and judging by their recruiting strategy (and lack of their own email address) its not the same as the International company.

I believe it to be Rosetta Stone as many of the email addresses have RS in the email + their office is right on line 4 near Zhongguancun. Additionally I have already heard a horror story from a friend who has done some work for them and not been paid - confirmed the use of these emails.


Re: Fake Employment Ads used for Phishing - Rosetta Stone

yeah, it's a bs op. i spoke with a couple of them on the phone, interested in the high rate, but i never give a company any more information than they've given me, and they became super unhelpful. c**ts really. Smile

道可道非常道名可名非常名
Daoable dao ain't DAO!
Prolly? Cain't say...

Re: Fake Employment Ads used for Phishing - Rosetta Stone

There is currently another post new year assault of these ads on here.Can someone from Rosetta Stone kindly interlude and advise if there are any genuine ads originating from them?

Life is like a jar of jalapenos,what you do today might burn your ass tomorrow

Re: Fake Employment Ads used for Phishing - Rosetta Stone

I spoke to the people at this school and in fact they are a partner of Rosetta Stone who have been given license to use the Rosetta Stone name in China.

After noticing a familiar trend in the way that they post their adverts, I did some investigating and found out that two of the three former directors(Ben and Sean) of Vivid English Club work there.

You may remember Vivid English Club as the school where the owner (Gerald) ran away with all the money and left students without classes and teachers without pay.

See here: http://weliveinbeijing.com/GroupNews/news2.rails?passport=passok&Nid=100...

Suspicious no?

Re: Fake Employment Ads used for Phishing - Rosetta Stone

Nice one, thanks for taking the trouble to investigate on others' behalf.
I remember the Vivid English Club saga,yes,well more the owner 'doing one' with the cash just not so clear on the name.Messy to say the least.

Life is like a jar of jalapenos,what you do today might burn your ass tomorrow

Re: Fake Employment Ads used for Phishing - Rosetta Stone

Here to help. Also this is a bit of a cautionary tale:

The boss doing one with the cash situation has been repeated on several occasions:

Real Life - second biggest example
Blurt English
Speak Out English

There have also been cases where a company has simply bankrupted but strung their employees along to cover any classes with promise of payment despite knowing that they would not be paid.

Latest Example: The Language Key

Re: Fake Employment Ads used for Phishing - Rosetta Stone

Excellent info. I like the fact the VIVID english saga hasn't faded. They can run but they can't hide. I too was suspicious about the 350RMB 500RMB but with a 'per hr'. So yes, scams abound and as 乌鸦 mentioned, NEVER tell them more than they've told you. And even then be hesitant.

So the 'running' list appears to be:

Vivid English Club
Real Life - second biggest example
Blurt English
Speak Out English

A few of the other lesser known schools to do similar things and to avoid are:

Stanford English (still advertising on the beijinger)
YBM

And there are probably more....

ESPECIALLY the agents...

"The EFL teaching industry in China is like Chinglish"

Re: Fake Employment Ads used for Phishing - Rosetta Stone

Agree on the agents but disagree on Stanford English. I know the guys pretty well over there and have done work for them in the past. I would actually say Stanford English is probably one of the best in Beijing at the moment. Pay is never late, rates are high and I have always had a good experience working with them.

Perhaps you have had a different experience? Any thing other should know?

Re: Fake Employment Ads used for Phishing - Rosetta Stone

@xinglish
I've worked for Stanford and they're a stand-up company, not sure where you're getting your information.

Copyright 2009 True Run Media. All Rights Reserved. 京ICP备11039980
Powered by CANDIS Infrastructure Services